Smoke-Free Policy Task Force

UCI Is a Smoke-Free and Tobacco-Free Campus

UC Irvine is committed to providing a healthy working, learning and living environment for all members of the campus community and its visitors. Smoking-related illness, including those related to tobacco smoke, comprises the largest proportion of preventable diseases.

As a leader in health and health care, as well as environmental research, policy, practice and education, UC Irvine has a responsibility to demonstrate leadership in reducing tobacco use and secondhand smoke exposure for our students, faculty, staff and visitors.

This affects everyone on UC Irvine property, including students, faculty, staff, guests and visitors. We ask that all tobacco users be respectful of our initiative.

This policy prohibits smoking on all campus properties including all indoor and outdoor areas. Smoking is prohibited everywhere on campus and at properties owned or leased by UC Irvine, including all parking lots.

Enforcement is educational, and all students, faculty, staff and visitors are expected to abide by current policies.

Smoke-Free Policy Task Force

Joseph DiMento, Chair
Professor, Law

Ramona Agrela
Associate Chancellor

Jasmine Blackburn
Coordinator, Student Support Programs

Bruce Blumberg
Professor, Developmental & Cell Biology

Michelle Garfinkel
Professor, Economics

Jon Gilwee
Senior Director, Government Healthcare Programs, UC Irvine Health

Marc Gomez
Assistant Vice Chancellor, Environmental Health & Safety and Facilities Management; Chair, Environment Work Group

Dyan Hall
Manager, Worklife & Wellness Program

Stephanie-Jean Hinojosa
IT Systems Manager, Facilities Management

Marcelle Holmes
Assistant Vice Chancellor, Wellness, Health & Counseling Services; Chair, Cessation Work Group

Frances Leslie
Dean, Graduate Division

Dr. Frank Meyskens
Vice Dean, Medicine

Dmitriy Nikitin
Junior, Public Health

Scott Ondap
Senior, Public Health

Jill Schindele
Director, Campus Recreation

Sharon Stead
Director, Middle Earth Housing

Deborah Sunday
Assistant Dean, Claire Trevor School of the Arts; Chair, Policy Work Group

David Timberlake
Associate Professor, Public Health

Jane Welgan
Associate Dean, University Extension; Chair, Communications Work Group